All About Planet Uranus

All About Planet Uranus


First things first, the Moon orbits the planets and the planets orbit the Sun.

The gravity of the Sun keeps all the planets in their orbits, just like planets gravity keeps the Moons in their orbits.

An orbit is a journey/path that an object takes in space. For example, stars, planets and moons.

Gravity is the pulling force that works in space.

Uranus is a cold and windy planet. Uniquely, it spins on it’s side as it travels, a bit like a ball rolling across the floor.

Uranus has a thick atmosphere made of hydrogen, helium and methane.

Uranus has 27 Moons.

In 1781, an English astronomer called William Herschel, discovered Uranus by using a wooden telescope.

Astronomers in the present day do not even have to look into the sky themselves, because their telescope’s have special computer’s that can collect the information for them.

A day on Uranus is 17.24 Earth hours. A day on Earth is 23.934 hours.

A planet’s day is the time it takes the planet to spin or rotate once on it’s axis.

Uranus takes 84 Earth years to complete one journey around the Sun.

Uranus and Neptune are gas giants like Jupiter and Saturn. These two planets are quite similar and are made of the same materials, but their looks hide many differences.

Uranus is named after the Roman God of the sky.

Astronomers believe at some point in the distant past, an object the size of Earth somehow crashed into Uranus and tilted it off center, as now it orbits the Sun on it’s side.

Uranus spins from east to west, instead of west to east, like every other planet, except Venus.

Uranus, like Saturn and Jupiter has rings. It’s made of gas too, mostly helium and hydrogen, but also some methane, which makes the planet look blue.

Uranus has at least 13 narrow rings. In the rings, there are rocks which are the darkest in the Solar System, a bit like coal.

Miranda, one of Uranus’s Moons, has a surface full of icy cliffs and craters, which scientists believe is from large asteroids striking the surface.

As Uranus orbits around the Sun on it’s side, one half of the planet receives light from the Sun all the time, whereas the other side stays in complete darkness.

Voyager, launched in 1977, was one of two space probes sent up to study the Giant Solar System. It passed Uranus in 1986, and is now passing through the outer reaches of the Solar System.

Uranus has only been visited once by a spacecraft and that was more than 30 years ago. Uranus does not have a surface for a spacecraft to land on, plus it’s atmosphere would destroy it’s metal.

Uranus has the coldest temperature of any of the planets.

Uranus is often referred to as an Ice Giant planet.

Uranus is about four times bigger than Earth.

Uranus is the seventh planet from the Sun.

Uranus cannot support life because there is no oxygen.

Uranus is the third largest planet in the Solar System.

Uranus has a diameter of 31,765 miles or 51,118 kilometers.

It would take almost nine and a half years to travel to Uranus.