All About Saturn

All About Saturn


This is the list of planets in order of their distance from the Sun: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune.

Saturn is 1.4 billion km away from the Sun.

Saturn is the second largest planet in our Solar System.

A day on Saturn lasts just 10 hours and 40 minutes.

Saturn has a large family of 82 moons. 53 moons are confirmed and named, while the other 29 are awaiting confirmation of discovery and official naming.

Saturn is best known for its colourful rings. Its famous rings are made of chunks of ice and rock, some are as small as sand grains, and some are as massive as mountains. They are what’s left of icy comets, asteroids and moons, that were sucked in by Saturn’s gravity and smashed into pieces as they crashed into each other. The icy chunks and grains are like mirrors that reflect the light from the Sun. This is why the rings are so bright and dazzling.

Most of Saturn’s moons are just tiny, icy worlds.

Saturn’s moons have their own gravity. As they travel around the planet on their orbits, the moons use this force to tug at Saturn’s rings. This pulling changes the way the rings are set out and creates the gaps in between them.

Moon’s orbit their planets and planets orbit the Sun.

The gravity of the Sun keeps all the planets in their orbits, just like the planets gravity keeps their Moon’s in their orbit.

An orbit is a journey/path that an object takes in space. For example, stars, planets and moons.

Gravity is the invisible pulling force that works in space. Earth’s gravity is what keeps us on the ground.

Saturn, like Jupiter is made of hydrogen and helium gas, and they both bulge in the middle. Although Saturn is more dense than Jupiter.

Saturn is the flattest planet in our Solar System.

Before we had telescopes, Saturn was the most distant planet that astronomers knew about.

Saturn is bigger than Earth and is made out of more materials, but they are not so tightly packed together. The materials are spread out more, which means it has a lower density. For example, if you had a huge bucket of water and dropped all the planets into it, Saturn would float, while the rest would sink to the bottom.

Saturn has only been visited four times by robotic spacecrafts.

One of Saturn’s moons, the Titan, is the second largest moon in the Solar System. Its surface is hidden away under thick orange clouds.

The Cassini-Huygens, was the first spacecraft to orbit Saturn in 2005. It’s probe entered the atmosphere of Titan, Saturn’s largest moon, and sent back the first images of this large moon.

As the Cassini spacecraft orbited Saturn, it sent back incredible pictures and data. It made new discoveries like the fact that there’s a mysterious hexagon spinning above the planet’s North Pole.

Saturn has been observed in the night sky since ancient times because it is easily visible to the naked eye.

Saturn’s rings were first observed in 1610 by the astronomer Galileo Galilei.

Saturn was named after the Roman god of agriculture.

The symbol for Saturn is an ancient scythe or a sickel.

Saturn orbits around the Sun once every 29.4 Earth years, or once every 10,755.7 Earth days.

Saturn travels at an average speed of 21,637 miles per hour.

Saturn has an average temperature of minus 288° F or minus 178° C.